SOTERA is the research group for Health and Wellbeing Architecture within the Department of Architecture at Aalto University. Our work supports Aalto University’s focus areas of Health and Wellbeing and Human-centred living environments.

UD2021 International Conference on Universal Design

November 20, 2020

UD2020 conference is now rescheduled for June 9th to 11th 2021. The information on UD2021 conference will be updated on the UD2021website with new content.

Tulevaisuuden sote-keskus -webinaari


SOTERA järjesti joulukkuussa 2021 webinaarin liittyen Tulevaisuuden sote-keskuksiin ja niihin liittyviin tiloihin. Tilaisuudessa saatiin tutkimus- ja käytännön tiedon lisäksi STM:n ja THL:n alustukset

Monimuotista integroitua asumista muistisairaille


SOTERA valmistelee konsortiohanketta muistisairaiden asumisen kehittämiseksi YM:n ja ARA:n tuella yhteistyössä suomalaisten kaupunkien kanssa.
Tiedutelut konsortioon liittymisestä: laura.arpiainen(at)aalto.fi


Central to SOTERA’s interests is to study how the built environment affects health and wellbeing. The core areas of interests include e.g.  the social and health care sector (from acute care to community health, assisted living and residential care), inclusive design, and the relationship of sustainability, climate change, and global transitions and health.


SOTERA arranges seminars, events, field trips and discussion luncheons; leads studies in the field on graduate, postgraduate and doctoral levels, and actively networks and participates in national and international projects, research, conferences, and seminars


SOTERA staff engages in education on all university levels. In addition to studio and lecture courses on health and wellbeing architecture, it offers a course on user-centered space design and supervise health and wellbeing related master’s thesis. SOTERA staff are often guest lecturers and critics on health and wellbeing related topics at Aalto University.

Meet the team

Professor, Health and Wellbeing Architecture

Laura Arpiainen

Researcher, D.Sc. in Architecture

Ira Verma


Pirjo Sanaksenaho


Freja Ståhlberg-Aalto


Jonna Taegen


Anssi Joustiniemi